Holt County, Missouri

Historical Notes

      Holt County is located in the northwest corner of Missouri, and was organized 29 January 1841. It was organized from territory acquired in the Platte Purchase. Holt County is named for David Rice Holt, a Missouri legislator from Platte County.

      The county was originally named Nodaway County, but the name was changed 17 days later, to honor Mr. Holt who died during the legislative session.

      It is bounded on the north by Atchison County; on the northeast, by Nodaway County; and on the southeast, by Andrew County. The Missouri River forms a natural boundary to the south and west.

      Across the Missouri River, to the west, is Richardson County, Nebraska; to the south is Doniphan County, Kansas. The Holt County seat is located in Oregon, Missouri. Cities included in Holt County are: Bigelow, Big Lake, Corning, Craig, Forest City, Fortescue, Maitland, Mound City, and Oregon.

Return to Holt County - Home Page

Page updated on January 18, 2017 by Karyn Techau