Holt County, Missouri

Welcome to Holt County MOGenWeb,a free genealogy site. We hope your visit with us, is a genealogical success! If you have questions, corrections, or would like to help, please contact your County Coordinator. We are always looking for photos, history and other genealogical information you may have. Thank you, Karyn.
Births        Deaths        Marriages        Photographs

Holt County was organized January 29, 1841; from a territory of the Platte Purchase. It is located in the northwest corner of Missouri. bounded on the north by Atchison County; on the northeast by Nodaway County and on the southeast by Andrew County.

The Missouri River forms a natural boundary to the south and west. Across the Missouri River to the west is Richardson County, Nebraska; to the south is Doniphan County, Kansas.

Holt County was originally named Nodaway County; however, the name changed seventeen days later, to honor David Rice Holt, a Missouri Legislator, who died during the legislative session.

Towns in Holt County are; Bigelow, Big Lake, Corning, Craig, Forest City, Fortescue, Maitland, Mound City, and Oregon. The county seat is Oregon.

MOGenWeb Archives


Search Holt County with FREE FIND

search engine by Freefind
Page updated on January 14, 2017 by Karyn Techau
Copyright MOGenWeb 1996-2017